I won an award! Squee!

My friend Ranee Clark has given me the Versatile Blogger Award! Yayz, that means someone is still reading this thing. :B Thank you, Ranee, for this fun little diversion. Ranee is a fellow member of ANWA, and we have a lot of fun procrastinating on our writing via email and Facebook silliness. Help support Ranee in her writing efforts: http://raneesclark.blogspot.com/


The Rules for The Versatile Blogger Award:
1. Thank and link back to the person that gave you the award.
2. Share seven things about yourself.
3. Pass the award to several bloggers that you think deserve it.
4. Lastly, contact all the bloggers that you’ve picked for the award.

So, without further ado, seven things about moi:
1. Books and music are my two favorite worldly pleasures. My favorite genre is Young Adult fantasy. Give me books like Harry Potter, Fablehaven, and Artemis Fowl, and I’m a happy girl. I prefer plots with action and strong, likable characters with maybe a hint of romance. My desk is covered with disorganized stacks of books, and I love it. Also on my desk are piles of CDs, although I listen to my music on the computer and the internet these days. Or I “borrow” my 17yo Lia’s iPod! I love 80s alternative like Depeche Mode and The Cure, steampunk artists The Cog is Dead, Dr. Steel, and The Clockwork Quartet, the genius composers Danny Elfman and Hans Zimmer, and many other strange and unusual types of music. I can’t tolerate country, mainstream Top 40, and rap. My favorite band is the seriously awesome steampunk group Abney Park. I got to meet them last February during a concert in San Francisco, where I took the girls and Eva somehow got us backstage! We’re seeing them again this Friday, and we’ll be taking my 4yo Anya too, because she adores the backup singer Jody and wants to meet her.

2. The Pirates of the Caribbean movies got me totally addicted to everything pirate.

3. I’ve finished my first novel, which is being considered by only one agent at the moment. It’s been through 6 rewrites, but Lia recently proved herself to be an amazing editor and found a few plot problems which need to be fixed before I send it out again. I’m also working on the book’s sequel and a steampunk novel. I have a few other ideas in planning stages too.

4. I hurt my feet ALL the time! Usually it’s broken toes, but I think I broke something in my right foot after a recent fall down some stairs, or I could have damaged a ligament, because after two months it still hurts. I’m also recovering from three broken toes at this time. One on one foot, two on the other. *sigh*

5. I used to live in a haunted house, and it was not a friendly spirit.

6. On the outside, I seem a little crazy and carefree, but I’m really hiding a painfully shy interior. I don’t like being the center of attention, yet I do attention-getting things like dressing in costume and being a complete dork. It’s like a war between personalities!
7. I don’t watch television, unless you count my recent Doctor Who obsession, thanks to one of my Facebook friends who got me addicted. And because of that, I’m now obsessed with this guy:
Comments make me feel like I have friends!

