Really not finished with the fangirl bit

Anyone who knows me is used to me not shutting up about Abney Park and steampunk stuff. Anyone who doesn’t really know me but reads this blog might get used to it real quick. I just get very excited about stuff I’m passionate about, and music has always been at the top of my list. I have to share things that move me, inspire me, or just keep me going.

I’m sure everyone has heard at least one song that’s touched their hearts and left them changed. This one in particular grabbed my soul and shook it around before leaving me standing still, in awe. The emotion in Jody’s voice during her solo brought me to tears. She said herself that she cried when she first read Robert’s lyrics. To quote another Abney Park fan: “Captain Robert is without equal when it comes to writing from his heart.” Maybe this song affects me more than others (although many fans have said it made them cry) because Jody’s part reminds me of the hopelessness my step-dad must have felt when he took his life.


I’m posting the song, with the lyrics below it.

Dear Mr. Brown,
One day I’ll be you and
Although I’m only eight now
You need to hear my rules
Never stop playing
Never stop dreaming and
And be careful not to
Turn into what I’d hate

Dear little boy,
I’m doing my best up here but
It’s a thankless job and
Nobody feels the same
You work long hours
Watch your credit rating
Pay your taxes and
Prepare to die

I have tried to keep my soul
I lost the fight to keep a hold
Now I am not awake
Now I’m not awake

Hey Mr. Brown
That can’t be what life is like
I’ve watched some movies
And I’ve, I’ve read some books
Life should be exciting
And sometimes scary but
What you’re describing doesn’t
Seem worth the time

Hey little boy,
I think you were always right
I’ve dropped that worthless life and
I’m moving on
Life should be adventure
I’m stealing back my soul
I’ve lost too many years now
I’m awake

You were right
I nearly lost my soul
I will fight to steal back my soul
Now I am awake
Now I’m awake

Comments make me feel like I have friends!

