An Oldie But Goodie

This is a goofy parody I wrote back in 2002 of this amazing Depeche Mode song. I’d originally posted it here, in their message board’s song parody thread. I accidentally wrote an extra stanza, but couldn’t bring myself to delete any of it. Sing along, and enjoy my attempt to get in touch with my inner Weird Al!

Oh God it’s raining
And I am complaining
My keys locked in the house oh so tight
The clouds in the sky
Bring tears to my eyes
They say I’m in for a long night

And I haven’t felt so much cold
In years

Just for a day
Like maybe today
Wish I’d get away from this constant Law of Murphy
The wind in my hair
Makes me so aware
How freaking cold it is tonight

And I haven’t seen so much frost
In years

My breath
Is shining in the sky
Reminding me
Should have brought my coat outside
But it’s locked inside

Crap now it’s snowing
My nose I am blowing
My fingertips turning bright red
Here on my own
Frost on my toes
When morning comes I will be dead

It’s coming down sideways
I’m hiding in doorways
And banging on windows with rocks
My family’s in bed
They sleep like they’re dead
While I stand out here wringing my socks

And I’ve never had frostburn at all
Before

The ice
Is getting in my eyes
I’ve never seen
Any other night
When my ears had turned so red
They fell right off of my head
But that’s tonight

2 thoughts on “An Oldie But Goodie

  1. I threw in an old CD of theirs the other day when I was trying to find the floor in my bedroom (we arranged and I can't remember the last time I actually FOLDED laundry) good stuff.

    Like

Comments make me feel like I have friends!

