I Have Caved to the Masses

Last night I did something I swore I’d never do. In the past, I had made solemn, public vows to never give in to pressure, and I’d raised my head proudly, looking down my nose as more and more of my friends started doing it. So last night, conflicting emotions of shame and excitement fought for dominance in my head. My 18-year-old kept looking over as I typed away on my keyboard, sniffing in disdain and calling me a follower of the masses.
Yes, that’s right. I finally joined Twitter.
But, I protest, as I scramble to defend myself, one of my friends got an agent by starting a conversation with her on Twitter! Many of my writer friends make valuable contacts with this social network, even more so than with Facebook. They use it as an important networking tool to keep their followers updated on their writing and to spread the news about writing contests, trends, etc. I decided it was time to jump on the bandwagon and see how I can use it to achieve my own nefarious ends.
Besides, I found out through Robert Brown’s tweet (lead singer of my favorite band) that his little girl thinks hippos eat white marbles. That alone was worth joining!
So if you tweet, twiddle or whatever, or engage in any of form of twittering twaddle, please follow me! Or add me, or however they say it over at tweedle-land. (In case you haven’t noticed, I have no idea how to use this thing, no clue what the hash marks or @ signs mean, but I figure the knowledge will come in time.) I’m following a huge total of 6 people right now, and have an absolutely staggering number of ZERO followers myself. My little blue bird is lonely!
Click on the picture to get to my Twitter page. 🙂
And, while I’m on the subject of following, I want to throw out a huge, fluffy THANK YOU to the new followers of my blog! I’ve had like 6 new followers in the past couple of days, and y’all don’t even know how happy that makes me. Somebody reads my blog! 😀 I follow anyone who follows me, so if I’ve missed your blog for some reason, shoot me a message. Or tweet @ me. (Did I do that right?)
9 thoughts on “I Have Caved to the Masses

  1. Hi! Stalking you online. I've got you on twitter and your blog. Did I miss anywhere? 🙂

    Twitter was absolutely the right call–now hurry and start following all the cool people. 😀

    Like

  2. I'm having a bit of fun on Twitter now! Don't tell my daughter, she's making fun of me. Still can't figure out what the hash marks are for though, maybe someone can shoot me a message? Oh, and I think I'm following everyone who's following me, if I've missed someone don't hesitate to let me know! I love seeing all your beautiful faces!

    Like

  3. Ah! Peer pressure is a curse! Yes, I am barely joining Tweedle-land too! Not sure what I think about it, but I need to give it a shot. I will certainly come follow you! (I am learning all the tweet stuff too.) Best of luck!

    Like

Comments make me feel like I have friends!

