Pumpkin Pasties

Oh my gosh, it’s my favorite season for baking, fireplaces, and PUMPKIN RECIPES! Although you wouldn’t know it’s fall, it’s still in the high 80’s today. Blargh…

I don’t have the Harry Potter cookbook, (it’s on my wish list) but I found this recipe online. I’ve been experimenting, so if I find one I like better I’ll post it.

2 eggs, slightly beaten
3/4 cup sugar
1 1 lb. can pumpkin
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. ginger
1/4 tsp. cloves
1 2/3 cups evaporated milk (1 can)
Pie crust pastry, packaged or homemade (enough for four single standard pie crusts – yeah, this recipe makes a lot!)

Bake the pie filling only (no crust) in a large casserole dish at 425 for 15 minutes. Keep oven door closed and reduce temp to 350 degrees and continue baking for 45 minutes or until butter knife inserted in center of dish comes out clean. Cool on wire rack.

Roll pie crusts thin and cut into circles approx 4″ in diameter (I use a bowl about this size to cut out the dough). Put a spoonful of the cool pumpkin mixture toward one side of the center of the circle. Fold over the crust into a half-circle and firmly crimp the edges closed. Slice three small slits in the top for venting, place on a cookie sheet lined with baking parchment, and bake only until crust is a light golden-brown.

I’ve experimented with different bowl sizes and even crimping the edges up to the top so they look like wontons. I didn’t like the wonton shape at all, because they baked weird. I like using a bowl between 4 and 5 inches in diameter, because you can fit more pumpkin into them. I tried a smaller bowl last night and the pasties turned out really cute, but less pumpkin. I brushed some beaten egg over the crusts so they came out a shiny golden color.

This recipe makes about 3 dozen, depending on how much pumpkin you spoon into the crust, and the crust size you cut. I had about a cup of pumpkin left over, and enough crust left over for about 2 or 3 more pasties, but I’d already baked two sheets and was tired out!

10 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pasties

  1. OOOH! YUMMY! I am so glad you shared this. I love all things pumpkin and all things fall. Seriously – it's a fettish! I can't wait to try these. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. Oh YUM!

    I saw the Unofficial HP Cookbook at B&N the other day and ALMOST bought it. If it's unofficial, is there an OFFICIAL one? Just wondering.

    Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    Like

  3. You ladies won't regret making pumpkin pasties! I'd love to get the cookbook, official or no. ;D Another recipe that sometimes pops up in the books is Yorkshire pudding. Great dish, although it's a little tricky to make. One that I don't think I'll be trying anytime soon is steak and kidney pie. LOL I'd love to make butterbeer though!

    Like

  4. Mmmm. Thank you, you wonderful lady! I LOVE pumpkin treats! And you know what drives me crazy?! I can't find Libby's pumpkin in any store around me for most of the year – only Sept thru Dec or so. Why, why, why? Are they trying to torment me? I mean, surely I can't be the only one out there who loves to each pumpkin wonderfulness all year round! Surely! So yesterday, I bought 12 cans and whenever I go to the store I'll get more. Yeah, I know I should wait for sales, but there's never a can in sight when that happens!

    I'm so happy to comment on your blog again. I've been reading and having a great old time here, but I've been so crazy busy that I haven't made it back to comment. I just think you're fantastic! You sound like such a wonderful mom and I can't wait to read your books – they all sound awesome! Hurry, get an agent! And how marvelous that you have 6 kids! I have 10 (all my own!) and they make life amazing!
    Thanks for hanging out at my blog and commenting!- you're awesome!

    Like

Comments make me feel like I have friends!

