The Good, the Bad, the Funny, and the Freakout

I’m such a blogging loser lately! Not only have I not been blogging as regularly as before, but I haven’t been spreading the comment love amongst my blogging friends as I should either. I do apologize, and I’m going to try to remedy that situation soon!

The good & bad: The good news is, from restricting my online time, my shoulders have been feeling much better. They don’t hate me anymore, although they still dislike me a lot. More good news: I’ve given up rejection candy. Bad news: If I were still eating rejection candy like in the past, I’d have gained 20 pounds in the past 2 weeks. Good news: I’m taking a break from querying during the holiday season, which gives me more time for Cobalt.

The funny: So last night I went to the store to get some cookies for Brian’s scout meeting, and the Harry Potter kiosk grabbed me on the way out. It did an Accio spell on me or something. I debated in front of that kiosk for like 5 minutes (because we’re still stuck in that “we can barely even afford the stuff we need let alone the stuff we want” thing). I finally decided the final movie was a definite need. So I grabbed it and ran out of the store laughing my head off. (I paid for it first!)

When I got home, I called Lia to tell her to send Brian out for scouts, and told her to come out too. I gave her the movie, and she ran back inside screaming. While Brian got in the car, I could still hear her screaming in the house. When I got home 2 hours later, she was still screaming. Okay, she wasn’t, but only because it was in the middle of Snape’s memory scene…

The freakout: After we finished Deathly Hallows, we used to say, “Well, at least we still have the movies to look forward to.” Then just before the last movie, all of us had mini breakdowns and lamented, “What is there to live for now??” Well, just a few days ago, Lia posted the answer on my Facebook wall:

My life has meaning once again. It’s not Harry Potter, but it’s a dang good story, and it looks like the movie is going to be great!

Then we watched the following video, which I think is the best fan-made trailer I’ve ever seen. (Apparently it was made in the hopes of getting the young actors a chance to audition.) Brilliant acting, I thought, even though I couldn’t see the little girl as Rue. Big spoiler warning here, if you haven’t read the books. And I totally needed a Kleenex. I know I’m going to need some for the actual movie!

So does anyone know if they’re doing movies for Catching Fire and Mockingjay too?

What about you guys? Any books, movies, or just general life stuff you’re really looking forward to?

5 thoughts on “The Good, the Bad, the Funny, and the Freakout

  1. Oh man, I am so stoked about the Hunger Games movie! It is so hard to wait. And I am laughing about your Harry Potter story. LOL. Glad you paid. I know if it lures me in with that Accio spell, I will be buying it to! A definite NEED – I do agree 🙂

    Like

  2. Don't feel guilty for being absent in the blogosphere. I have cobwebs on mine, and the occasional tumbleweed blowing past my posts. I also haven't done much commenting on other people's blogs. Everyone's doing either Nano or some other version of it.

    I am soooo looking forward to the Hunger Games. I've already got hubs to promise to take me even though he has no idea what it's about. XD

    Like

  3. I saw Breaking Dawn 1 yesterday afternoon and they played the HG trailer. Based upon the excitement in the crowd and unless they totally screw up the movie (Collins wrote the screenplay), I'm sure they'll make the other two books into movies. I think HG looks awesome and that scene where Katniss voluteers gives me chills every time I see it. But I did not like the last book at all, and that worries me for the films.

    Like

  4. Cannot wait for THE HUNGER GAMES! My co-worker and I take 1/2 days for such events (Twilight movies, and a few others) and watch a flick and dine & drink afterward. Of course, we go during the week when all the teenagers are in school–don't want to feel too lame being a 36 year-old at a teeny-bopper movie!! 😉 hee

    Like

Comments make me feel like I have friends!

