Oh Never Mind, I Can’t Stay Away Y’all!

I was doing some grumbling on Facebook, which is against character for me, but I’ve been grumbling a lot lately. I usually try to stay upbeat and save the drama rantings for my family members. But some of you already know what’s been going on, and for those who don’t yet, don’t feel left out. I’m not really one for sweeping things under the rug, and I fully believe some bad secrets need airing out or they’ll end up stinking something horrible. Plus, I’m about to become an advocate for this cause, which means secrecy is pretty much out. But at the moment, I’m not even sure how much I can legally say.

Suffice to say for now, very soon I’m going to be fighting to keep my family together, to heal my children, and to make sure a certain sick, evil person is out of our lives for good. My husband and I are going to need all the prayers and support we can get to stay strong and united, and to come out of this as better parents and better spouses to each other. Maybe a little battle-scarred, but stronger. And I will keep you all updated when I can.

Anyway–back to the grumbling. Earlier today, I’d made a New Year’s status update resolving to not post any more bummer status updates. (This was quickly followed by two more updates about stepping on dog barf, getting food poisoning from bad milk, pulling dead skin out of a razor after my 11yo had a bloody shaving accident that has probably scarred her legs for life, and then getting knocked into the Christmas tree when my 18yo jumped up from the couch and bumped into me and I rebounded off her chest. See? I take my New Year’s resolutions very seriously.)

So my friend Elizabeth responded that I never seemed like a bummer to her, but she wished I would get back to the blogging thing. And I was like, okay. I’ve been missing the blogs, and funnies, and writing. And this is a good thing! Crap happens, and it’s how you deal with it that often determines your mental state at the outcome. I’ve always handled difficult situations with a healthy helping of humor, and a few servings of optimism. Sometimes I need to be reminded, though.

I didn’t think I felt up to posting a Monday Funny, but my unscheduled flight into the tree ornaments reminded me that I need hilarity to function. In the upcoming weeks, I might miss a funny or two, or maybe I’ll even take a little more time off. I have no idea what to expect. But I’m very grateful for my friends who have sent me such kind emails over the past couple of weeks, and also those on Facebook and a few in person (I do have one or two local friends!) who have helped me get my head back on straight, and looking forward instead of down.

Well…it is Monday, after all. How about a funny?

I love the following videos! This granny is too cute for words. The hooligan verbally abusing her is her great-grandson in real life. Sadly, she passed away not too long ago. She reminds me a lot of my own grandma, who is still with us and crazy as ever!

Grannies are for pwning noobs! After seeing how mean Julian supposedly is to his grandmother, it was nice to see the next video, where he shows a lot of love and patience trying to teach her a difficult word.

Now I’m off to clean up my kitchen, which has exploded with food storage my mom and new step-dad gave us (here’s a reminder to rotate your food storage, everyone! A lot of it expired in 2006, hehe), and then I’m going to make some homemade pumpkin hot chocolate! And go check out my post for today on ANWA’s blog. πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Oh Never Mind, I Can’t Stay Away Y’all!

  1. Glad to see you're back. I know it's hard to keep a sense of humor when nothing in life seems at all funny. So, just remember, you don't have to be a laugh a minute…you just have to be you. Crazy pirate lovin' Kristen is cool whether she's hilarious or not.

    Ever need any help that fits in an inbox…I'm right here. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. You are one amazingly strong woman! And yes, humor definitely helps us keep our spirits up. Thanks for the cute and funny videos. Stay strong and have faith. Evil never wins.

    <3

    Like

  3. Thanks so much, you guys! Cherie, I don't really feel that strong, but I guess when I sit back and think about it, I could be falling apart a lot more than I am. I actually feel pretty peaceful most of the time (in between bouts of severe anger where I'm wanting to exact some very creative revenge, lol). We're just taking stuff one day at a time, and I do feel like we're moving in the right direction. We have counseling lined up, and the most important thing is that my children are now safe and that evil man won't be hurting them anymore.

    Like

Comments make me feel like I have friends!

