Monday Sickie

Oh my goodness, I wrote this last night and saved the draft, but I haven’t been able to drag myself to a computer until tonight. Ugh…

Do I ever need a break from writing. Not that I want a break, because I’m finally getting toward the end of Cobalt, and I’m so excited about it that I’ve written over 11,000 words in the past two days! I know, I fell off the couch when I just checked the numbers. I think I’ll be done with the first draft in a week or two! If only I was this excited about every stage in the writing process! But maybe that wouldn’t be such a good thing, because my house looks like this:

(But not really!)

And my brain is doing this:

And I feel like this:

That’s my poor little guy Brian, who had the flu and an ear infection last week.

So, I have a funny story about the latest chapter I was working on, to entertain you on this beautiful Monday which, unfortunately, sees me suffering from a bad flu. Cobalt is a dark steampunk fantasy, and I’ve really been looking forward to the spooky scenes I’m at now. I stayed up all night, because I didn’t realize it was already 2 am when I was writing up a storm, and since church starts at 9, I figured it would be easier to just stay up instead of drag myself out of bed after only 4 hours. (Huge mistake, by the way. I think that might be part of the reason I’m sick.)

Anyway, I finally had to pull myself away from the computer at 7 to take a shower and get ready. I’d been in the middle of something I thought was super spooky, and it was creeping me the hayell out. I was in the shower and started to get really spooked. I mean, not just mildly scared, but literally jumpy at every shift in the curtain and shadow that moved in the bathroom. I didn’t want to turn around, or close my eyes to wash my face. It felt like this:

Okay, so I’m easily scared. (I freaking cried last week when I saw The Woman in Black, the first and only scary movie I’ve ever seen in the theater, because I didn’t have any other kind of outlet to let all that stress out like I do at home, I didn’t want to be the only annoying screaming woman there!) So what might be super creepy to me might not be such a huge deal to my readers, when the book is finally out. I don’t know, they’ll have to tell me. But I sure hope I did the scary thing right!

So, yeah. Monday funny, me being stupid and jumpy over something I wrote. :B Oh! And this one sentence from Cobalt, I love it. (Maybe it’ll get cut, I was working on no sleep, after all!)

Everyone screamed at once, except for Kate,
who still had her face full of the back of the airman’s pants.

It’s not naughty, I promise!

In other news, I got an award from this cool chick. 😀 I haven’t seen this one before and I love the little questions. Rather than tagging a bunch of peeps (because I love you all! And also because I’m running out of time before the cold meds kick in and I want to get back to my creepy chapter), I’d like to invite any and all of you to take this award and feature it on your own blog. And tell me when you do!

Favorite Color?

Burrrgundy! I want this as my hair color.

Favorite Animal?

You’re saying unicorns can’t be my favorite animal because they’re not real? Shut up.

Favorite Number?

Oh, I don’t know. 5, I guess. I like things in fives.

Favorite (non-alcoholic) drink?

Unless quail egg shooters count as a drink. Yum!

Facebook or Twitter?

Oh, no contest!

My passion?

Getting or Giving presents?

Umm…both? 😀

Favorite pattern?

Black and white stripes!

Favorite day of the week?

Favorite flower?

Any kind of wildflower, whatever looks good in a fairy garden. Especially red, white, yellow, and purple.

Okay, I’m gonna go write now. But before I do:

Yeah, I’d originally saved that to make fun of Lia, because that’s exactly what she’s like when she’s sick. I can usually get through a cold without major meds, but this time – no. Give mama the Nyquil!

15 thoughts on “Monday Sickie

  1. 11,000 words in 2 days??!!! I bow before your awesome-ness!! Heh, I cry when I write sad things too, glad to hear I'm not the only one.
    Congrats on award … Who says unicorns aren't real??
    Hope you feel better soon.

    Like

  2. Yay for creepy writing! I actually like to read creepy/horror stories, but I have a hard time WATCHING scary movies. I thought about going to see The Woman in Black, but then I saw the previews, and after that, I was checking behind my shoulder every so often (well, it was night and I was all alone at home–the kids and hubs were at Grandma's at that time). So I chickened out. Bleh. I think it's the visuals that get me. At least when I'm reading, I can tone down the images a little in my mind. With movies, they're just right there in your face. Gah!

    I hope you feel better soon. Hugs and healthy vibes coming your way… ❤

    Like

  3. Okay – we are totally living in the same boat. I've been crying a lot lately and I think it has to do with stress. Totally buggin' me. Grrr. And I don't feel good today so I'm being a lazy crap head. Yeah – I don't care. My brain is doing that DRRRRR thing too. 🙂

    Like

  4. It was a pretty good movie, actually! Lotta jump scares, and I HATE those. But I could watch it again and be okay with it, now that I know what's coming. When it comes out on DVD, we're going to have a scary movie night with the kids' friends. 😀

    Like

  5. That is hilarious that you took a pic of your sick kid at the dr. office. Poor Brian. I hope you are both better soon!
    And I'm w/ Elizabeth. I don't do scary. I wrote a creepy character in a WIP recently and then had to kill him off. Immediately.

    Like

  6. HOLY CRAP! Your boy face down on the table is probably the funniest thing I've seen all week. *laughs* As a mom I know it's not funny when kiddos are sick but…come on, that was just priceless!!

    Like

  7. Oh my goodness, this thing KILLED me! You know you're sick when you can't eat for 3 days. I can't laugh because it sends me into a coughing fit that exhausts me. I've hardly left the couch. But I'm finally getting better! I'm actually sitting up today. LOL Now I just have to get back into the swing of writing!

    Like

Comments make me feel like I have friends!

