Monday FUN

I’m going to do something a little different today, since Lia hasn’t punked my WIP lately and my funny pictures have temporarily run dry. I do have a funny to share. The other day, I re-posted this video when my friend Josh put it on his Facebook, which led some of my friends to think I’m goth. That gave me a little bit of a giggle, because knew it would create panic and confusion amongst my friends (yes, I’m exaggerating). I was sort of goth in high school, except at that time I was way too shy to deviate very much from the norm. Mostly I was just really awkward, wore black all the time, and listened to a lot of music goths liked. But I avoided any type of social scene that would force me out of my comfort zone and make me talk to people I didn’t know very well!

The same is true of me today, except I’ve traded the black clothing for brown and tan, stripes, and gears. I still listen to strange music, and I’d much rather stay at home with my face in a book than engage in the scary act of talking to people I don’t know well. The ironic thing is, I’ve been thrust into the steampunk scene more than I’d ever expected would happen, and it’s exciting as well as scary, but it’s a secret that you won’t find out any more about until next month!

Anyway, Josh is from Vernian Process and a San Francisco-based DJ, and he and some friends put together this humorous video for a goth show there. I died when I saw Josh’s disdainful facial expressions; everyone wondered how they could film this without bursting into laughter; my kids took notes and gleefully practiced the “step over your dead friend” moves.

And another funny to share: A delightful bit of fun called Steam Powered Giraffe. My 13-year-old Emily found out about these guys a couple weeks ago and they’re now her favorite group. This is when I start to question my involvement in the genre and feel like I really suck as a steampunk: I’ve been into it for years, but there are still groups and authors I’ve never heard of! And how could I not have heard of these talented guys before now?

My boys could watch these videos over and over, wondering if they’re really robots! They don’t believe me when I tell them they’re just regular guys who’ve attended mime and theater classes to learn their moves.

They’re from San Diego and have done shows at the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Fair, Legoland, and many other events and locations. If you’re from the San Diego area and have seen these guys out and about, let me know. I’ll try to control my jealousy!

Oh looky, I did find a few funnies after all! You made it all the way through my post, so you get a prize…

This is totally me when my laptop gives me that notification. Totally me. Gotta run off and find my power cord!

Okee, I’m going to go be crazy somewhere else now. Maybe get in a bit of writing sometime today…Oh, and go check out my post on ANWA’s blog about this little movie that’s just come out. You might have heard of it…

14 thoughts on “Monday FUN

  1. Ha, I'll have to watch the videos when I'm not at work. I have stumbled upon writing something a tiny bit steampunkish and I have no idea what I'm doing. But I'm just letting the idea take me where it wants to go. Always love a good Captain Jack clip.

    Like

  2. I have to agree with Elizabeth 100% here. I had no idea what steampunk was until you and I think it's just the coolest thing πŸ˜€

    Also, love the Johnny Depp thing because that's exactly what I do.

    Like

  3. Run, don't walk to see Steam Powered Giraffe live! They put on an amazingly good show. We were totally blown away, and honored to share the stage with them last year in San Diego. =) Thanks for linking our silly video too btw

    Like

  4. Run, don't walk to see Steam Powered Giraffe live! They put on an amazingly good show. We were totally blown away, and honored to share the stage with them last year in San Diego. =) Thanks for linking our silly video too btw

    Like

Comments make me feel like I have friends!

